hmail server on Wine (Linux Mint)

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
fjgh
Normal user
Normal user

hmail server on Wine (Linux Mint)

Post by fjgh » 2017-02-06 06:16

Has anybody tried using hmail on wine with success. If you have any details they would be appreciated! I am not sure that a server can be used on a program like wine but I thought I would ask.

By the way, I have been using hmail on windows for 4 years without any (not one) problems. It just keeps ticking. But its time to move it to another OS like Linux if it is at all possible.

mattg

Re: hmail server on Wine (Linux Mint)

Post by mattg » 2017-02-06 06:42

Last I heard not possible

(hMailserver uses DCOM and creates a Windows service)

Use one of the linux mail servers instead
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

fjgh
Normal user
Normal user

Post by fjgh » 2017-02-06 07:36

Thanks for the info. Its looking like in the not so distant future there will not be windows software to run apps like hmail server. Pre win10 OS are fading away slowly. Windows 10 will detect a server running on it immediately and I don't think there will be local win server software in the near future. Win server will be Cloud only if MS can do it that way only. I think hmail should be run on server software and not a desktop OS.

It looks to me that Linux is the future for local apps whether they are severs or just regular apps. I think it would be very good to see a Linux version of hmail at some time in the future. Hint, Hint.

Dravion
Senior user
Senior user

Post by Dravion » 2017-02-06 09:54

Wine can do a lot of cool tricks but .NET Framework stuff doesnt work well on top off it.