hmail with roundcube

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
gantoua
New user
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-02-07 01:12

hmail with roundcube

Post by gantoua » 2020-02-07 01:17

hi. i install the hmailserver on windows 2012r2 server and roundcube for webmail in another server on ubuntu. how I can allow users to change their password through in roundcube; i install the plugin tou change password but i can't do it. Thanks very much and sorry for my english.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20899
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by mattg » 2020-02-07 01:55

roundcube password change relies on DCOM, which will only work if roundcube is installed on the same server that hMailserver is installed on. Normally on IIS, but I think that apache on the windows server should also work.
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3624
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by SorenR » 2020-02-07 03:48

Well, actually YOU CAN run Roundcube on a 'nix box and hMailServer on a Win box... I do it with a little help from Andreas Tunberg (I do not know if he is the brother of Greta ... )

https://github.com/tunis78

You WILL need to install the Webportal for hMailServer on the Windows box. It WILL NOT need Internet access but it WILL need permission granted for the Roundcube Server.

The modified plugins for Roundcube will use a "custom driver" to allow the Plugin to proxy requests to the hMailServer Webportal.

It works for me since mid 2018 on Roundcube 1.3.3 - I run my web-stuff on an older NAS and have been a bit challenged by the PHP versions lately.

Oops... It seems I have broken part of it when I installed 5.6.8 and overwritten the PHPWebAdmin folder on IIS... Now I know what to do this weekend :mrgreen:

EDIT... Files restored but need to correct fileaccess/IIS access rights and I have no remote terminal with me. :roll:
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20899
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by mattg » 2020-02-07 04:06

SorenR wrote:
2020-02-07 03:48
..a little help from Andreas Tunberg (I do not know if he is the brother of Greta ... )
tunis78

Perhaps he is Greta's father :mrgreen:

I do think that this may be our regular 'tunis'
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20899
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by mattg » 2020-02-07 04:19

SorenR wrote:
2020-02-07 03:48
You WILL need to install the Webportal for hMailServer on the Windows box. It WILL NOT need Internet access but it WILL need permission granted for the Roundcube Server.
Where do I find this 'Webportal for hMailServer'
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3624
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by SorenR » 2020-02-07 04:20

mattg wrote:
2020-02-07 04:06
SorenR wrote:
2020-02-07 03:48
..a little help from Andreas Tunberg (I do not know if he is the brother of Greta ... )
tunis78

Perhaps he is Greta's father :mrgreen:

I do think that this may be our regular 'tunis'
The one and only.

Found this... password changer for hMailserver using Tunis' "remote_hm" stuff on Unix.
https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30844
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3624
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by SorenR » 2020-02-07 04:22

mattg wrote:
2020-02-07 04:19
SorenR wrote:
2020-02-07 03:48
You WILL need to install the Webportal for hMailServer on the Windows box. It WILL NOT need Internet access but it WILL need permission granted for the Roundcube Server.
Where do I find this 'Webportal for hMailServer'
Er... It's the PHPWebAdmin that comes with hMailServer. :wink:
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

tunis
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 251
Joined: 2015-01-05 20:22
Location: Sweden

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by tunis » 2020-02-07 09:35

First, I'm not related to Greta.

I use nginx and php on my hMailserver and I had only uncomment this "com.allow_dcom = true" in php.ini.
Copy required files to your www catalog.

There is instruction in config.inc.dist in all plugins I made.
HMS 5.6.8 B2494.25 on Windows Server 2019 Core VM.
HMS 5.6.8 B2494.24 on Windows Server 2016 Core VM.
HMS 5.6.7 B2425.16 on Windows Server 2012 R2 Core VM.

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3624
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail with roundcube

Post by SorenR » 2020-02-07 17:05

tunis wrote:
2020-02-07 09:35
I use nginx and php on my hMailserver and I had only uncomment this "com.allow_dcom = true" in php.ini.
Copy required files to your www catalog.

There is instruction in config.inc.dist in all plugins I made.
Oh AND !!! Do remember to add the IP address of your Roundcube server to the "hm_rc*.php" files copied to the PHPWebAdmin directory. If not you'll get a "403 Forbidden" in Roundcube or a "You are not permitted" if you link directly from your browser.

Me... 20 minutes ago...

Image
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

Post Reply